Homecoming July 22nd - July 27th 2019


History of Sheakleyville Community Volunteer Fireman's Association

Additional Information

In the fall of 1946 a group of citizens met in the old gymnasium to create interest in fire protection.  Robert Peterman acted as temporary chairman and William Beck as Secretary.  

     Prior to the formation of the department the group had devised a system by which large fire extinguishers were made available in case of an emergency in the community.  Organizers included J.A. Gedeon, the borough's postmaster, R.A. Peterman, W.F. Martin, Franklin May, K.H. Graham, T.C. Cochran, Ruben Hoobler, and J.e. Graham.

     The department organized March 28th, 1947.  The first elected officers of Sheakleyville Community Vol. Fire Dept. were: Pres., Franklin May,; Vice Pres., Robert Peterman; Sec., Kennedy Graham; Treasurer Ed Graham; Asst. Treasurer Al Chenoweth; Fire Chief, Jay Fisher; 1st Asst., Art Stright; 2nd Asst., Ralph Pressler.

     Board of Directors: President John Graham, Sheakleyville; Ed Ashe, Perry Twp., Gene Free, Deer Creek Twp,; Glen Williams, Salem Twp.; Marshal Thompson, Sandy Creek Twp. 

     A Howe high pressure fog truck was purchased in 1947 and housed at the home of the fire chief, Jay Fisher until a building could be built.  A lot was purchased in the borough from J.E. Reed, and  a cement block building 32'X 36'was erected and contained two stalls.  The building was enlarged 64' X 72' in July 1962.  The buliding now has a large social room, kitchen, rest rooms, and a special chamber for radio communication.  It also houses three trucks and other equipment.  

     Present officers of the department are Rev. Jon Gulnac, president; Clinton Bishop, Vice President,; Glenn Larimer, secretary; Charles Good, treasurer. Directors: Victor Rookhill, Otter Creek Twp., Dennis Yeager, New Vernon Twp.; Eugene Free, Perry Twp.; Harison Smith, Salem Twp.; Roy Holzapfel, Sandy Creek Twp.; Edward Breese, Deer Creek Twp.; W.J. Weiss, Sheakleyville, Donald Varner, fire chief; Mark Thompson, assistant fire chief; and Lieutenants, Donald Cresswell and Howard Woodcock. 

About Us






Thank You

Whether you help through monetary donations, or volunteering your time at the chicken pie supper or our homecoming,thank you. We couldn't continue to help the community without the help of supporters like you. 


Donate Today


Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card

We are dedicated to improving the lives of those in our community. Your contribution today helps us make a difference.